Smells Like Dirt

Today I pulled some of last summers garden beets from the freezer.  My husband hates beets and says they taste like dirt.  Even though I don’t eat dirt, I like dirt . . . when I was a little girl, I loved to make mud pies and I still like to play in the dirt.  Here’s to dirt!  It smells like summer and who couldn’t use a little summer in the winter?

I used a pickled beet recipe from Simply Recipes and it’s simply delicious!

2 Comments on “Smells Like Dirt”

  1. Konnie Trone says:

    Cathy, I have to agree with Larry on this one. Beets are just…..can’t even think of ..any kind of a word to describe them, so I’ll agree with Larry, dirt! But they do look ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh, so pretty in your picture. Almost good enough to eat, almost.

  2. cathy says:

    Thanks Konnie! I guess that’s why I eat them, they’re such a pretty color, I can’t resist.


Leave a Reply

