Yogurt Magic

It was like magic!  I woke up to yogurt in the crockpot!  I’ve not wanted to add another gadget to my kitchen and that held me back from the magic of homemade yogurt, until I discovered the yogurt making instructions at A Year of Slow Cooking.  I’ll post the simple instructions here, but you’ll still want to check out the link for detailed instructions with photos and tips.

Magical Homemade Yogurt

8 cups milk

1/2 – 1 cup instant milk powder

1/2 cup yogurt w/active cultures

Warm the milk in a 4 qt. crockpot on low for 2 1/2 hours.  Unplug crockpot and let sit 3 more hours.  Take out 2 cups of milk and wisk in yogurt, add this back into crockpot.  Wrap crockpot with a towel and let sit 8 more hours.  That’s it!

This recipe can also be made with other types of milk, including powdered milk.  I found this comment at A Year of Slow Cooking;

I live in a very remote part of Yukon Territory (Canada), so we don’t see much fresh milk. I used reconstituted dry skim milk powder, adding extra powder. I also added the gelatin with the starter in the hope that it would set and it did!!! Wonderful flavor, mild and slightly tart.

3 Comments on “Yogurt Magic”

  1. konnie trone says:

    I can’t wait to try this. I told everyone at work about it! And thank you for sharing. By the way, your rolls were delicious.

  2. […] yogurt everywhere . . . now that I know how easy it is to make yogurt at home, I’m trying to find ways to use it in addition to parfaits and smoothies.  Here’s a […]

  3. […] Yogurt Carrot Bread or Another Way to Use Your Homemade Yogurt […]


Leave a Reply

