Homemade Laundry Soap in Thirty Minutes!

It’s true!  Thirty minutes from start to finish including clean up. Here’s what I learned and all that I know about homemade laundry soap . . .

For some reason I have come to equate cleaning power with suds when it comes to laundry soap.  Homemade laundry soap does not have suds, it only has cleaning power.  Just for fun I added some grapefruit essential oil and the laundry came out fresh and clean with a hint of citrus.  Best of all I saved money while sacrificing very little time.

Simple Homemade Laundry Soap

1-Box Washing Soda (3lb. 7 oz.)

1-Box Baking Soda (4 lb.)

1-Box Borax (4 lb.)

3-Fels-Naptha Bar Soap (5.5 oz) or 4 bars Castile Bar Soap (4 oz)

Optional – Essential Oil

Grate the bar soap in a food processor and mix together with all other ingredients.  (You can also grate the bar soap by hand it just takes more time and energy.)

It’s that simple!

The Fels bar is yellow and softer than the Castile.   I had to run it through the food processor twice to break up the look of grated cheese in the laundry soap.  The Castile bar is white and quite a bit harder.

I have hard water at my house and I use two tablespoons per load of laundry in a top loading washing machine.

This recipe makes about 23 cups and using two tablespoons per load will give you 184 loads at approximately $.09 per load.

2 Comments on “Homemade Laundry Soap in Thirty Minutes!”

  1. Konnie Trone says:

    now, that’s what I am talking about! You know, I think I will just try everything you post here. Well, not everything, but everything that sounds good to me.

  2. cathy says:

    Konnie, thanks for being my biggest fan! I know you had issues with the beets . . . I’ll try to keep them to myself. =)


Leave a Reply

