Yogurt Scones With Jalapeno and Cheese

Yogurt, yogurt everywhere . . . now that I know how easy it is to make yogurt at home, I’m trying to find ways to use it in addition to parfaits and smoothies.  Here’s a great recipe for yogurt scones!  This recipe can be changed around by subtracting the jalapeno, cheese, and black pepper and adding 1/4 cup of sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon.  Be creative and come up with your own combo of sweet or savory yogurt scones!

One note about the difference between American biscuits and Scottish scones;  they are usually made from similar recipes, although scones are generally sweeter.  An exception would be the Utah scone which is more like Indian fry bread.  I just happen to like the name “scone” and so that’s what I’m calling this biscuit like quick bread.  And that’s all I have to say about that.

Yogurt Scones With Jalapeno and Cheese

2 cups flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 Tablespoon minced fresh jalapeno

1 1/4 cup plain yogurt

Mix together all ingredients in the order they are listed.  Form into a ball and press into a 9″ pie plate.  Bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.  Wasn’t that easy?

7 Comments on “Yogurt Scones With Jalapeno and Cheese”

  1. Konnie Trone says:

    Can’t wait to try this. But I still need to make my yogurt.

    • cathy says:

      I’m making more yogurt tonight. I read that adding powdered milk powder to the recipe I posted makes the yogurt creamier. I’m going to try it!

  2. Angie Allen says:

    That sounds delicious and would go great with a bowl of homemade chili or bean soup!

  3. Karen Seifert says:

    Yum! And JALAPENOS!!!

    • cathy says:

      Karen, after your last episode with jalapenos, I would suggest you pass on these and try a nice variation . . . how about cinnamon-apple? Add 1/4 cup sugar, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1 cup diced apples to the flour mixture. Sprinkle the tops with cinnamon and sugar . . . I’m making myself hungry!=)

  4. […] up a batch of yogurt scones without the jalapeno and cheese, but with the herb of your choice.  Cut them into biscuit […]


Leave a Reply

