The Adventures of Konnie and the Sweet Meat Squash

I’m getting a little desperate to use up the winter squash that’s still in cold storage from last fall, so my good friend Konnie was kind enough to take one and here’s an excerpt from the story she wrote about her squash.

I can do it, I know I can!

Yes, I want to make a squash soup.  Okay I’ve got the squash, the recipe, and let’s begin.  Grab that squash . . .  hmmmm . . . then what?  The recipe only states to toss the squash in a bowl with olive oil, salt, and pepper.  But first I need to get my squash into pieces that I can toss in a bowl.  I grab a knife and try to figure out how to cut this warty squash thing.

The squash is bigger than most, so I grab a bigger than most knife.  I try to cut the squash and no such luck.  I finally have the knife in the squash, but now can’t get it to cut, nor can I get it back out.  Well, there is my laptop, I google ‘how to cut winter squash.’  Okay we are getting somewhere.  I found some information about squash and was perusing pictures of how to cut it and noticed one of the pictures had someone using a knife, a mallet, and a saw!  I knew I needed something much bigger than what I had.

Later when the soup is done . . .

My son, Korey, just walked in the kitchen and wants some soup.  A success!  Oh wait, he tastes it and decides it’s not his style.  Style??  It’s a soup, not a suit!  Oh well, more for me.  And . . . well . . . I enjoyed it.  I also learned something about sweet meat squash.  See I knew I could do it.

Winter Squash Soup

1 squash, peeled (approx. 3 cups in 1 ” cubes)

1/4 cup olive oil

1 Tablespoon butter

1 medium onion, diced

3 cups chicken broth

1 teaspoon curry powder

1 pinch nutmeg

1 pinch cloves

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 small apple

salt and pepper to taste

In a bowl toss squash with olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Place squash on sheet tray and roast in oven at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes.  While squash is roasting, place onion in pot with butter and cook until translucent.  Add chicken stock and roasted squash to pot.  Boil until squash is tender.  Puree until smooth.  Add syrup and remaining seasonings.  Dice an apple into very small pieces and add to the soup with the cream.  Heat until warm, but do not boil.  Garnish with cheese and apple slices.

2 Comments on “The Adventures of Konnie and the Sweet Meat Squash”

  1. Konnie Trone says:

    She should know more about squash at her ripe old age!


Leave a Reply

