How Do You Figure That?

I just can’t escape it, math.  Today I decided to figure out how much flour I need for a three month supply.  Assuming you can bake bread, which is a valuable and fun skill to have, here is a guideline you can use to figure it out for your family.  Oh good, another story problem!

My wheat bread recipe calls for 9 cups flour (4 1/2 cups wheat and 4 1/2 cups white) and makes 3 loaves per batch.  My family of two consumes 2 loaves per week.  How much flour do we need for three months?

10 lbs flour = approx. 38 cups

I’ll be adding another 20 lbs. of white flour for desserts, biscuits, tortillas, and sharing with the neighbors, bringing the total to 40 lbs. for my three month pantry.

Leave a Reply

