Seeds of Self-Reliance

“We encourage you to grow all the food that you feasibly can on your own property. Berry bushes, grapevines, fruit trees—plant them if your climate is right for their growth. Grow vegetables and eat them from your own yard. Even those residing in apartments or condominiums can generally grow a little food in pots and planters. Study the best methods of providing your own foods. Make your garden as neat and attractive as well as productive.”  Spencer W. Kimball, “Family Preparedness,” Ensign, May 1976, 124.

3 Comments on “Seeds of Self-Reliance”

  1. Konnie Trone says:

    My question to you is how does one start a garden with little or no money? What preparation can you do without having to spend a lot on boxes and soil preparation? I guess I am saying, help me, please!

    • cathy says:

      I’ll be addressing that in one of my next blog posts. Check with me about the possibility of a church day of service to help people get a spot of their yard tilled up for a small garden.

      • Konnie Trone says:

        That sounds wondeful! Thank you! If you want me to do a 3 month ‘live out of my pantry’ type of thing, I will need all the help I can get. I can do it….I would just starve! But tht’s not the idea, is it? It’s also hard sometimes when it’s just me, although I still have two adult muchkins living at home. I think I will talk to my son and Hugh and see what they are planting and then plant something different so we can all share. Thanks for all your help, love and support!


Leave a Reply

