Yogurt Crackers with Sun Dried Tomatoes

Baking crackers reminded me of the book I once read entitled, How to Think Like Leonardo da Vinci. Leonardo’s life seemed to be based on asking questions, therefore one of the assignments in the book was all about asking yourself questions.  So, after my first attempt at baking crackers I had to ask myself, “Why are my crackers heavy and chewy and not light and crispy?”  With the help and speed of the internet, instead of months of trial and error, I was able to find out that crackers require baking soda to make them light.  I’m still a little puzzled by the crispy part.  Maybe that comes with age.  Sitting in a box perhaps?

And my next question is, “I wonder how many different variations of this cracker could be made with different kinds of herbs?”  Here’s my very tasty second attempt at crackers:

1 cup yogurt (I used homemade which is thinner than most commercial yogurts.)

1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes

1/4 cup parmigiano-reggiano cheese

2 Tablespoons olive oil

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons dried basil

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup white flour

In a food processor blend yogurt, tomatoes, cheese, and oil.  Add whole wheat flour, baking soda, and spices and mix together.  Add white flour and mix until dough forms a ball.  Turn out onto flour surface and knead a couple of times.  Roll out very thin, 1/8″.  Cut into shapes and pierce with a fork.  Bake at 325 degrees for 12 minutes.  Cool on baking rack.

3 Comments on “Yogurt Crackers with Sun Dried Tomatoes”

  1. Konnie says:

    Amazing! Now after you get the crackers down to a science, I have a receipe for Ranch Dressing that I heard is fantastic. The recipe calls for saltines, but I’m wondering if your crackers would work. Let me know if you want the recipe.

  2. cathy says:

    Yes, I would love the recipe! I have a couple more ideas for getting the crackers to be crispy. Leaving them out overnight in an open container did crisp up the ones on top, but I’m going to try baking them longer on a lower temperature too.


Leave a Reply

