Irish Soda Bread Crackers

Suddenly I’ve developed a fascination for crackers, maybe it’s because I’m trying to cut back on my bread consumption (along with my salt, sugar, and fat consumption.) Crackers are the perfect substitute.  They’re small, cute, and yummy!  And there’s a hundred ways to flavor them . . . so, just for today in anticipation of tomorrow’s St. Patrick’s day celebration, here’s my version of Irish Soda Bread in cracker form.

I’ve read that crackers should be stored in an air tight container.  This doesn’t work for me.  I’ve found crackers that I want crispy need to be stored in a paper bag or cardboard box.  And guess what?  They’re crunchy just like a real cracker should be!  I’m not sure what to tell you if you live in a humid climate.

Irish Soda Bread Crackers

1 cup yogurt

1/3 cup currants

1 Tablespoon caraway seeds

2 Tablespoons vegetable oil

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

2 cups white flour

Combine yogurt, currants, caraway, and oil in a food processor.  Add one cup of flour and blend.  Add remaining flour 1/4 cup at a time, mixing until dough forms a ball.  Turn out onto well floured surface and knead a few times.  Roll very thin, no more than 1/8″.  Cut into shapes, place on baking sheet, prick with a fork, and spritz with water.  Bake in 325 degree oven for 10 minutes or until golden brown on the bottom.

Leave a Reply

