The Greater Good

“How do we evaluate the good that comes from the obvious lessons of planting, cultivating, and the eternal law of the harvest?  . . .  Yes, we are laying up resources in store, but perhaps the greater good is contained in the lessons of life we learn as we live providently”   Spencer W. Kimball, Ensign, Nov. 1977

2 Comments on “The Greater Good”

  1. Angie Allen says:

    Recently, I had a job interview, part of which required a give “a two minute talk on the subject of your choice.” This was a completely new interview technique to me and I really stewed about it until my sweet husband gave me a blessing with the promise that “what you need to say will come to you in the night.” This is what came to me in the night:
    Two Minute Talk for a job Interview
    Angie Allen

    When my husband and I moved into our house a couple of years ago, we were pleased that the inside had been renovated and updated, but realized the outside had been neglected. We then did something we don’t usually do: yard work! We had a new white fence installed and had the house exterior painted a cheery yellow; my favorite color. We planted fruit trees and a maple tree for shade. We planted forsythia bushes and daffodil bulbs (did I mention yellow is my favorite color?). Then I did something I had never done before. I heard that pansies should be planted in the fall. This seemed counter intuitive to me. Plant flowers in the fall when it’s getting colder and winter is coming? I trusted the experts and planted pansies (yellow, of course, and orange and purple).

    As I looked back on the experiences, I realized I had learned a lot. Just like in life, some things are done for their immediate benefit, like putting up a fence or applying a coat of paint. Some things are done for the near future, like forsythia bushes and spring bulbs; and some things are done with the distant future in mind, like fruit and shade trees that we may not enjoy, but later generations will. But I think I learned the most from the pansies. They provided a beautiful display of color just as all around them was fading; they withstood the cold, frosty temperatures and the winter snow that covered them. And, as promised, they bloomed again early in the spring and will share their beauty until the days are too warm for them. I look forward to planting pansies again in the fall.

    • cathy says:

      I’ve had a super busy week and just got around to reading your comment. Thank you for the beautiful story! I wish this was on the front page and not back here in the comments. There really are so many lessons to be learned from the garden and nature!


Leave a Reply

