Saturday Means Bountiful Baskets

Every Saturday Larry and I head for the Bountiful Basket drop off and today was no different.  What is different is the new surprise we find each time.  Sometimes we are pleasantly surprised and other times we wonder what to do with it?  Here’s the little routine I go through when we get home, which varies slightly from week to week.

1.  Separate the refrigerated items from the non-refrigerated.

2.  Wash the leafy greens, put them in a zip-lock and put in the refrigerator.  (They wilt quickly.)

3.  Shuck the corn for roasting later and put in the refrigerator.

4.  Chop up anything else that needs it and store in zip-locks in the refrigerator.

5.  Make a mental note about what recipes I can make this week to jot down later.

6.  Give away the giant cucumber to someone who will eat it.

7.  Google, “How to Cook an Artichoke?”

I’ve always thought of artichokes as the lobster of vegetables . . . a lot of work for a little meat.  Don’t get me wrong I love to cook with artichokes, but I always pick them off the shelf at the grocery store.  So, I’m off to find a good recipe using fresh artichokes.  Wish me luck or share your artichoke recipe . . .

4 Comments on “Saturday Means Bountiful Baskets”

  1. Angie Allen says:

    Growing up in CA, I thought every one ate artichokes, but I found out it was an aquired taste. We prepared them the simplest way possible. Cut off the bottom so it will sit level in the pot. Cut off the tips of the leaves with your kitchen shears and the top so it’s flat, too. Rub the top and leaves with lemon juice. Put in a pot with about an inch of simmering water and cover and steam for awhile until the leaves are tender. In the mean time, prepare a dipping sauce. The most traditional is clarifed butter. My favorite is Best Foods Mayo with a little lemon juice. Eat the leaves by tearing each one off the choke and dipping in the sauce then scraping the meaty part off with your lower teeth. Yum. When you get down to the less meaty leaves, remove them and remove the thistley part and then eat the heart. Oh, man, I have to go get an artichoke! My mom would prepare one for each person and when I was young, I was scared of the thistles, so I wouldn’t try the heart. This was a boon to my mom because she got to eat all the hearts! I really like the hearts now, and, like you, buy them in a can or jar, but I like the leaves enough to buy a couple a year to fix and eat. Have fun!

  2. Carolyn says:

    Artichokes? I am still gathering mint recipes for you! I will leave the only one I’ve found here so I can move on and keep up.
    Rhubarb Mint Cooler
    1 pound trimmed rhubarb, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
    5 cups water
    1 cup sugar
    1/4 cup packed fresh mint leaves
    fresh mint sprigs for garnish
    Combine all ingredients and bring to a boil. Simmer 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Cool 15 minutes then pour mixture through a fine sieve into a pitcher, pressing hard on the solids. Cover and chill at least three hours. Serve over ice in glasses, garnished with fresh mint springs.


Leave a Reply

