Meet The Collards

Here are the beautiful and tasty collards that were planted last October, now getting ready to go to rest and make room for something new in their garden spot.  If you don’t already know what to do with collards, here are a few ideas . . .

When the plant gets ready to go to seed, these heads that look like broccoli can be lightly sauteed and eaten, just like broccoli.  I did it and it’s yummy!

These little yellow collard flowers look pretty in a salad and provide a hint of cabbage flavor.

Today’s lunch was a salad similar to one I’ve had at, Hell’s Backbone Grill.  It’s made up of mesclun lettuce, romaine lettuce, jicama, strawberries, pumpkin seeds, and collard flowers.

And the leaves of the collard can be used in soups and dried as chips.  Also, for the best greens recipe ever check out Christine Kane’s blog.

4 Comments on “Meet The Collards”

  1. Thank you for linking to my Tree Collard Chips. What a beautiful salad! I have a friend who raves about Brassica flowers in salads. I’m going to have to try these when some of mine go to flower.

    I like your blog and the challenge you’ve undertaken. I think a lot of us could use help and inspiration in this department. I know for myself, even though I’m a gardener and food aware, more food goes to the compost bin than I’d like to admit.

    Good vibes for your endeavor!

  2. Sharlyn Hall says:

    Cathy:
    This is AMAZING! Thank you for sharing your journey–in enough detail that we can follow in your footsteps. This salad is beautiful! I will look forward with even more anticipation for the collards and kale to come up.

  3. Jacob says:

    Your blog gets better and better

  4. Lee Ann says:

    Who knew collard greens could be beautiful? Gorgeous photo, interesting idea!


Leave a Reply

