Just Gimme That Powdered Milk . . . Moo, moo, Moo, moo

Yes, I’ve been at girls camp this past week and singin’ that groovy song – Don’t gimme no pop, no pop.  Don’t gimme no juice, no juice.  Just gimme that milk, moo, moo, moo, moo! So in the spirit of food storage . . . just gimme that powdered milk and then what?  Here’s a few ideas —

1.  Make sure you at least semi-like the powdered milk you buy.  Frankly, I don’t have the time or the money to test out all the powdered milk available, so I have relied on The Great Powdered Milk Taste Test.  I’ve chosen to use Provident Pantry Instant Dry Milk, it’s pretty good for powdered milk.

2.  Mix it up to drink or pour on your cereal.  Be sure to chill it before serving.

3.  Powdered Milk Buttermilk

Add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar to a cup of powdered milk.  Or store some buttermilk powder in your pantry.

4.  Evaporated Powdered Milk

Double the powder to water ratio.  Or store some evaporated milk in your pantry.

5. Sweetened Condensed Powdered Milk

1 cup instant powdered milk

1  cup powdered sugar

1/3 cup hot water

3 Tablespoons melted butter

Whisk all ingredients together until smooth.

I don’t use sweetened condensed milk very often, so I mixed this up just to see what it was like . . . it looks like the real thing and how can it not taste good with sugar and butter in it?  I’ll probably freeze it for use sometime down the road.

6.  Powdered Milk Whipped Cream

6 Tablespoons instant powdered milk

1 cup cold water

2 teaspoons unflavored gelatin powder

3 Tablespoons sugar

Mix the powdered milk into the cold water and then scald on medium heat.  Mix the sugar and gelatin together and add to the scalded milk, mix until gelatin is dissolved.  Chill in refrigerator until it starts to jell.  Remove from the refrigerator, add vanilla, and whip with an electric mixer for about 5 minutes.

This is another one of those, ” how can it not taste good with sugar in it,” recipes.  If you return it to the refrigerator after whipping, it sets up like meringue.  You could also try plan A or B or C . . . store Dream Whip or eat your pie without whipped cream or keep a milk cow!

3 Comments on “Just Gimme That Powdered Milk . . . Moo, moo, Moo, moo”

  1. Carolyn says:

    Powdered milk and I have a long history. Your new information on how to use it has almost convinced me to add it to my food storage. Almost. Kyle mentioned the milk in Korea is horrible and wanted me to send him some powdered milk. I just couldn’t do it so I sent Nestle Quick instead! Heidi told me the milk in Taiwan is powdered milk which has been reconstituted then sold in stores. I am still thinking it over but “rotation” is still an issue since the little I usually have around for cooking goes bad before I use it. Keeping a cow could work but then I have issues with the taste of “raw” milk. Guess I had better just plan to live without it………

    • cathy says:

      I don’t drink very much milk of any variety, but with the upcoming three month food storage challenge I’m just a little worried about doing without it completely. What I’ll really miss is yogurt. I’m going to bravely try making it this week with powdered milk and powdered yogurt starter. Wish me luck!

  2. Konnie Trone says:

    your title brought a smile to my face


Leave a Reply

