“I Don’t Want Any One Colored Meals”

A couple of months ago I was attending a Relief Society lesson on the Word of Wisdom, when one of the sisters remarked that when she was young,  her father would say to her mother, “Barbara, I don’t want any one colored meals.”  That statement amused me (OK I chucked under my breath.)  I don’t know about you, but I love a colorful meal!  Even tuna noodle casserole can be colorful, so here you have my version.

Colorful Tuna Noodle Casserole

The idea is to raise the ratio of vegetables to pasta.  If you use one cup of noodles, then add two cups of chopped or sliced veggies (I know it sounds like a lot, but trust me, it works and it’s good.)  In the photo above I used green beans, celery, carrots, and onions.

You could use a cream of whatever soup, but I made a sauce of buttermilk and cream cheese.

Mix it all together with a can of tuna and some Italian seasonings.  Top with slivered almonds and bake for about 25 minutes at 350 degrees.

This is a recipe that you can vary according to your families likes, just remember “color.”

One Comment on ““I Don’t Want Any One Colored Meals””

  1. […] 14. Pasta w/Green Beans and Tuna […]


Leave a Reply

